31st State – Skincare For Teenage Boys – Review

31st State – Skincare For Teenage Boys – Review

Skincare for teenage boys is not something you see marketed very often, but why not?  Male grooming is on the increase after all and the 21st century teenage boy is just as conscious of his appearance and looking good as the teenage girl - if not more so in fact, if my household is anything to go by!

Unfortunately, many teenagers also have to contend with acne in their bid to look good, with NHS statistics showing that around 80% of teenagers will suffer at some point.  Skin hygiene and developing a good daily cleansing regime have vital roles to play in keeping the pimples at bay during the teenage years and in my experience the sooner they start the better.

Finding the right products for teenagers, however, is a battle in itself.  There is not a one size fits all solution to skincare and certainly when it comes to teenage boys it stands to reason that their needs will differ to those of teenage girls.  Add to this the fact that there is not a great deal available in the UK and what is, can contain chemical ingredients which are just too harsh for young skin and the options available to our teenage boys are very limited.

With this in mind, Stephanie Capuano, a native Californian and a mother faced with this challenge herself worked with UK product developers whilst living here to create 31st State, a line dedicated specifically to the needs of teenage boys and derived completely from natural ingredients.

Knowing that her own boys would recoil at using products that looked too feminine Stephanie set out to create a brand that reflected the outdoor cleanness and freshness of the Californian lifestyle with products that were simple and "cool" to use.

With an 18 year old of my own who bucks the trend for wanting to look good and who has until now used a combination of high street as well as expensive male skincare products that put a strain on his university budget, my son was delighted to be offered the chance to trial the skincare products in the 31st State range.  These included the Foaming Face Wash, Overnight Clearing Pads and the all important Spot Control Gel.

As anyone with a teenage boy will know, the simpler the better.  They don't like fuss and they certainly don't like to waste time faffing about - oh no that is the preserve of the female species!  You won't be surprised, therefore, to hear that when I asked my son what he liked the most about the products his response was "The ease of use and the clear instructions."  His words not mine, I promise.  Teenage boys may want to look good but they don't want to look like they have tried too hard and this effortless vibe is central to Stephanie's mission.  As for the look of the products well in his own words again "I like the design, it is stylish, not too in your face."  No pun intended of course - just the usual teen speak.

All the products use gentle, natural but effective ingredients that work wonders not only on cleansing the skin thoroughly and removing all the dirt, oil and bacteria that can lead to blemishes and spots if left untouched, but also on calming and rebalancing the skin. Their motto is keeping it natural is what it is all about.  Anything that strips, irritates, bothers and otherwise annoys the skin is off-limits.

Tea tree renowned for its healing qualities releases into the skin slowly over a 12 hour period, reducing the likelihood of irritation and redness.  Manuka is antibacterial and works to target spots by helping to get rid of oil.  Witch hazel is widely used in acne products and is a natural antiseptic renowned for its anti-irritant, anti-bacterial and potent anti-inflammatory properties.  Magnesium, Copper and Zinc prevent breakouts and restore healthier looking skin.

Of all the products, my son's hands down favourite is the Overnight Clearing Pads.  The Foaming Face Wash he says is perfect for use in the shower in the morning, but at night and no doubt particularly if he has been out and just wants to go to bed, he likes the option of having something quick and easy to use and the pads tick that box.

He has learnt the hard way the result of not cleaning his skin properly so whilst he very rarely suffers from spots now, he likes the reassurance of having a topical treatment that will quickly sort them out if he does. His verdict on the Spot Control Gel is that it is great for use day and night.  It quickly reduces the redness and inflammation associated with spots and unlike many other over the counter lotions he has used it is not drying.

As with all skincare products the real test is the opinion of others.  It is all very well using a product yourself and thinking it is making a difference but if no-one else notices what is the point?  Now that he is away at University the first time I saw my son since he has been using the products was last week when he returned home for a study break.  As an over critical mother who can spot a dirty face at a hundred paces, I can honestly say his skin looked a lot clearer and brighter, which is not something you would naturally tend to say about a teenager's skin and certainly not one that is away from home for the first time.   Thus, based on his feedback and the overall improvement in my son's appearance that I noticed, if you are looking for a straightforward natural skincare range for your teenage son or know someone who is, I would say you can't go wrong with 31st State.  Take a look at the products here, they are good value and would make the perfect stocking filler - they are certainly on my son's list.

Disclosure: We received the 31st State products in exchange for an honest review.  All thoughts and opinions are my own and those of my son and unbiased.   

Follow:

32 Comments

  1. December 4, 2017 / 10:07 am

    the condition of our skin at any age really affects our confidence and as teens they are most vulnerable with their self esteem, boys and girls. I was lucky to never get acne, but my husbands brother had it very bad so I am not sure what will happen with our children, it is great that you are sharing ways to help. thank you for being part of #abloggingggodtime
    Mackenzie Glanville recently posted…Tips to help you get on top of the little things #mg link upMy Profile

    • November 30, 2017 / 10:15 am

      Oh that is very kind Karen thank you.

  2. November 13, 2017 / 5:30 pm

    It’s really good to read a post about skincare for boys Jo as the focus is so much on girls. I know how important skin health is at this age and a good product coupled with a skin care routine is so important for both genders. Love the focus on natural ingredients and I think cleansing pads would be a must for teen boys because I can’t imagine they could be bothered with a lot of faffing around but as you know I have no experience of adolescent males! xx #TweensTeensBeyond

    • November 22, 2017 / 11:11 am

      Yes that is why I was so pleased to hear about these products. My eldest is a bit OCD about his skin and keeping it clear of spots so he has road tested quite a few brands on the market but this is the first that has made a noticeable difference and the pads have been a huge success. #TweensTeensBeyond

  3. November 13, 2017 / 11:12 am

    Good to know that they use natural ingredients. My teenage son doesn’t care much about his appearance, too. But I do. I’m always the one who reminds him to take a shower or brush his teeth. He breaks out in pimples and we already tried proactiv. At some point, it helped clear his face but after a few months, they came back with a vengeance. His dermatologist said that his skin developed resistance to the products. So we’re trying a new one. But like the proactiv system, he doesn’t like greasy lotions. He might like this set coz it’s just the facial wash, the clearing pads, and the spot gel. Like what your son said, looks like it’s easy to use.

    • November 22, 2017 / 11:16 am

      It’s so demoralising for them when they think they have found something that works to then be back at square one. Unfortunately so many products have alot of harsh ingredients in them that dry out the skin and strip it of all its natural oils which just upsets the skin’s natural balance. 31st State are simply full of natural ingredients that fight the bacteria that cause the spots. I don’t believe there is any one wonder product that will get rid of spots for good as hormones have a lot to do with it but a product that doesn’t aggravate and calms and soothes is the best bet.

    • November 22, 2017 / 11:17 am

      Absolutely Suzanne.

    • November 22, 2017 / 11:19 am

      Yes that is the problem Kelly as I have said to Nena, the OTC products available are so drying and that just comes with a whole host of other problems. Give them a go and let me know what you think. #TweensTeensBeyond

  4. November 8, 2017 / 2:44 pm

    Ha ha This is another of those posts that make me glad I never had teen boys to cope with, as I’m sure I spend less time cleansing/moisturising than they do!
    Mary Mayfield recently posted…Sunset walk at Shipley Country ParkMy Profile

    • November 8, 2017 / 6:41 pm

      Of course, forgot to add #tweensteensbeyond!

    • November 22, 2017 / 11:20 am

      Yes sorry Mary not really relevant for you I know but I appreciate you taking time to leave a comment.

        • November 30, 2017 / 10:14 am

          Oh congratulations Mary that is fabulous news. A few years to enjoy before he hits the teen period first though.

    • November 22, 2017 / 11:21 am

      Yes I was introduced to Tea Tree oil by an Australian buddy of mine many years ago when I was going through a period of adult acne and although that period is well and truly behind me I always have some to hand. It is brilliant and healing wounds quickly. Thanks for your comment.

  5. November 8, 2017 / 11:11 am

    I loved this when I spotted on Twitter yesterday. My son is 12 and he’s always been a ‘wash and go’ type and not thought about his skincare. He’s recently started to get a bit of a spotty chin and I was thinking about maybe introducing something but didn’t want to anything with too many chemicals so the ingredients in this product are great. #TweensTeensBeyond

    • November 22, 2017 / 11:23 am

      Yay! I am so glad it was a timely post for you Natalie. Natural is definitely best. My son has put a repeat request in for Christmas. If you get some for Codie let me know how he gets on. #TweensTeensBeyond

  6. November 8, 2017 / 3:12 am

    Very interesting. My teen is already having a few pimples and he seems a bit concerned. I give him the usual face wash and skin care products but come to think of it there really is nothing for young males and I don’t think anything is available in India. Maybe, someone should look into developing a few products for young males.

    • November 22, 2017 / 11:28 am

      It’s funny really that there is so little for teenage males and that was obviously the incentive for Stephanie when she was living here with her teenage sons and couldn’t find anything. It’s worth checking these out if you can get hold of some.

  7. Midlife Dramas in Pyjamas
    November 7, 2017 / 9:52 pm

    This looks a great brand. At the moment my two use a Clearasil 12 hour facewash every morning and night, but would be up for making a change. You’re right about it having to be simple and no faff for boys. Their facewash sits in the shower so they use it like soap. If they had to make a special trip to the bathroom, I’m not sure it’d be getting used at all! #TweensTeensBeyond

    • November 22, 2017 / 11:30 am

      It is good that they have a product that they use and they use regularly. If they like to use something in the shower then the 31st State facial wash is perfect and as I said that is exactly how my son uses his and he swears by the pads.

  8. November 7, 2017 / 8:40 pm

    I’m just starting to think of a fun and easy way to set my boy up on a daily routine. Like the idea of a no fuss system that uses essential oils. Off to investigate more. Thanks for sharing. #TweensTeensBeyond
    Cheryl | Time To Craft recently posted…Floating candles and fruit eyeballsMy Profile

    • November 22, 2017 / 11:31 am

      Oh good I am glad I caught you at the right time Cheryl! It is so important to get them into the habit of cleansing early on, bacteria has a lot to answer for and these products are a kind and effective way of getting rid of it.

    • November 22, 2017 / 11:33 am

      Oh yes a house with a clean boy is a sweet one! My husband was late to the whole grooming malarkey, preferring a slap of soap and water but now won’t go anywhere without his rejuvenating moisturiser! If your son is on the look out or you are for Christmas, definitely give this range a go. My son has tried a lot and this is the first that has made such a noticeable difference in keeping his skin clear.

  9. November 7, 2017 / 5:38 pm

    This was interesting Jo. A brand I have not heard of. Nice packaging and I like the name too. I totally see where your son is coming from with his thoughts. Big tick for the wipes for the evening too. I’m with him on that. The cleansing routine can be a faff which generally means it doesn’t get done. Especially for the young people. Looks like you’ve stumbled upon a good product here. #tweensteensbeyond
    Nicky Kentisbeer recently posted…Joining the Exclusive 50 ClubMy Profile

    • November 22, 2017 / 11:35 am

      Yes keep it in mind Nicky for any nephews or sons of friends! Cleansing pads are always a good solution and these seem to have made a real difference combined with the face wash.

  10. November 7, 2017 / 3:55 pm

    Really useful this. Have twin teenage lads, both have recurrent skin problems. The primary aim here is getting them to take care of them selves in the first place, then to look at their diet! Thanks for the advice though, as you say stocking fillers!
    #TweensTeensBeyond

    • November 22, 2017 / 11:37 am

      I had to nag my son in the early days but he came to realise that spots wouldn’t disappear just by applying spot gel and that getting rid of the bacteria in the first place was a big part of it. Cleansing and moisturising is second nature to him now. The perfect stocking filler.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge